Corolla, Carova residents can go home starting Saturday


From staff reports

Friday, September 14, 2018

Residents and property owners in Corolla and Carova who were ordered to evacuate earlier this week as Hurricane Florence approached, will be allowed access to the Outer Banks communities starting on Saturday, Currituck officials announced Friday.

Motorists will be allowed access to their homes and properties starting at 7 a.m., the county said. To gain entry, they’ll need a Currituck re-entry pass or provide a driver’s license, tax bill, or utility bill with a county address.

Vacationers and guests will not be allowed re-entry to the Outer Banks on Saturday, however. Currituck officials anticipate visitors will be allowed back onto the Outer Banks on Sunday.

In the meantime, Dare County continues to restrict access to Dare County at the Wright Memorial Bridge. Residents and property owners headed to Corolla and Carvoa by U.S. Highway 158 have to cross the bridge. Only emergency vehicles with a critical needs pass or a priority one pass are currently allowed entry, Currituck officials said.

Currituck’s state of emergency remains in effect. However, county officials planned to lift the ban on the sale of alcohol as of noon on Friday.   

A county official noted that because of Dare’s travel restrictions, the Corolla ABC store’s reopening may be delayed. Because the restrictions may limit ABC store employees’ ability to get to Corolla, the community’s residents should check on the ABC store’s status by calling 453-9628, the official said.